Darkroom Practice with Pinholes.

Over the Easter Holiday we were told to make a pinhole camera in which we would hopefully be able to use in our module. I made mine out of a quality street tin as I felt it would give me multiple choices for different types of exposures. As I had made to aperture holes in my tin, one on the lid of the tin and one on the side of the tin, giving me two choices with different out comes.

I was unable to expose any over the Easter Holiday, however we had a pinhole workshop, in which I was able to test my pinhole camera, to see if it worked and to see the results it gave me.

I first decided to use the side of the tin for an exposure, I knew due to the distance inside the camera, that it would be a longer exposure, so I chose to go for 50 seconds. Here was the result:

beam-2 negative

I was stand quite a distance from this skip, however due to the distance of the paper and the aperture, the focal length becomes longer, providing a zoomed effect. It also slightly distorted the image becoming more of a telephoto lens.

I chose to compare outcomes with another image, but this time I used my lid aperture for an exposure. As the paper would be closer to the aperture, I knew it would need less time for exposure. I opted for 40 seconds and here is the outcomes below:

Shoe Pinhole negative

For this exposure I was rather close to my subject, but due to the focal length it provides me with a wide angle photograph. You can also see that the image becomes a lot more contrasted allowing the blacks to be blacker and white to be whiter, giving more depth to the photograph.

As you can see, these images are in negative form, so to make these into positives you will use an enlarger in the darkroom. First you place a piece of photographic paper(shiny side up) under the enlarger, you then get your negative print, and place it image side down on top of the photographic paper. You then place a glass plate down on your image, so it is completely flat against your photographic paper. It is always best to do a test strip first, and I tend to start with 5 seconds. Here are my final positive prints from this workshop.

Shoe Pinhole
beam-2

Overall, I feel the exposure from the tin lid worked better, as the contrast it creates adds depth to the overall image. I also feel I will be using the tin lid for task 2.

Leave a Reply

