Assignment 1 – Final print test strips

Today was the day when I would succeed in the darkroom and produce some higher quality prints than my past attempts. I have decided to only show the test strips in this post, as I want to do a separate post for my finals.

First Print:

This was the print I had most hassle with last time, so I wanted to do this one first so I could get this one as good as possible, this would give me more ‘drive’ to continue with the next prints.

I set up my enlarger exactly the same as before. Meaning I would be going from either F/8 or F/11. Contrast stays at 4.0 throughout all of my images.

F/11        3 Seconds                  6 Seconds                   9 Seconds                             12 Seconds

The exposure was very light, as three seconds did not even get any of the photograph to appear. So I changed my aperture to F/8 to expose it to a brighter light.

F/8     15 Seconds             12 Seconds          9 Seconds       6 Seconds          3 Seconds

This gave a stronger result of exposures. I decided that I really liked his shirt at about 13 seconds, whilst his face was exposed for 8 seconds, however I dodged his eyes for a longer period of time and I am extremely happy with the results as you can see his eyes are a lot more clearer.

 

Second Print:

As I have already printed this once I know I have to burn in the glasses longer than the rest of the image.

Test Strip:

F/8     12 Seconds                       9 Seconds              6 Seconds                     3 Seconds

I decided to go with 7 seconds because I felt 6 seconds losses the tone throughout her face. But 9 seconds is too dark. My conformation strip is below:

 

F/8 – 7 seconds – I burnt the sunglasses in for an extra 5 seconds. This allows them to be extremely sharp and contrasted. I also dodged her eyes for 2 seconds to make them a little lighter.

 

Third Print:

Due to me already printing this photograph in the past, I knew that the eyes were the darkest part of the image. I had to dodge the eyes for a few seconds to bring out a little more detail than before.

F/8         12 seconds            9 Seconds                  6 Seconds                     3 Seconds

Due to the test strip being rather dark overall, I changed the aperture to F/11 and did a conformation strip at 7 Seconds:

I still felt this was a little light, so on my final print I added one more second making it an exposure of 8 seconds. I also dodged the eyes for three seconds making them much more visible than the last attempt whilst also getting a consistant contrast throughout all the photographs.

 

Forth print:

This was one of my newest photographs, which was shot during a very sunny day. This made the photographs rather bright so I had to expose them for a longer time. However due to the amount of light on the day, it has allowed a lot more detail to be shown compared to my first photo shoot, such as the eyes. One mistake I did make on this test strip was forgetting to focus the image before printing.

F/11      12 Seconds                   9 Seconds                        6 Seconds                      3 Seconds

Due to the test strip being so light i changed the aperture to F/8 allowing more light to make the image darker. I then did a conformation strip at 10 seconds. However I noticed a lot of the left side of the background had been lost. So to get that back a little I re-exposed the left side of the background for an extra 8 seconds.

F/8 – 10 seconds – an extra 8 seconds to burn in the left side of the background.

 

Fifth Print:

This was the image that I was looking forward to printing. I felt he had a very unique sense of style compared to other people I had photographed.

F/8         3 Seconds                           6 Seconds                9 Seconds                 12 Seconds

Straight away I knew 12 seconds would be the perfect exposure, so I did a conformation strip:

I was extremely happy with the contrast of his hair against his skin, and how the light picked up intricate details such as the stubble on his chin.

However when I printed this out fully, I found that that background was almost white. A lot of detail had been lost so I knew this was going to take a lot of burning.

The print before the burning in of the background. I actually ended up burning the background for an extra 13 seconds.

 

Sixth Print:

I changed the aperture back to F/11 and did a test strip.

F/11      12 Seconds               9 Seconds        6 Seconds                3 Seconds

Straight away I knew I made a mistake as I should of left the aperture at F/8, so I changed the aperture and did another test strip.

F/8      3 secs                 6 Secs              9 Secs        12 Secs         15 Secs         18 Secs

Even though I did a lot of exposures with this test strip it shows how different 3 seconds can make a print look so different. I decided to go with 7 seconds. So I did a conformation strip:

The first thing I noticed was how dark the eyes were, so I did another conformation strip but this time I dodged for a couple of seconds.

It allowed the eyes to coe out a lot more, so you can slightly see the whites of his eyes, instead of them being engulfed in darkness.

 

Seventh Print:

F/8     3 Seconds                     6 Seconds                9 Seconds                   12 Seconds

I felt this test strip was a little too dark, as I did not want to expose my print for just 3 seconds, so I turned the aperture to F/11 and did another test strip.

F/11     3 Seconds            6 Seconds             9 Seconds                         12 Seconds

I almost felt this was too light, so I decided to do a conformation strip at 12 seconds and I could tell the background would also need to be burnt in, so I re-exposed the background for another 5 Seconds. I also dodged the eyes for two seconds to keep as much detail as possible.

 

Eight Print:

This was my third attempt at this print, as I wanted to make sure all my prints had no borders on. I realise that keeping the same amount of contrast through out my images no matter the lighting that I shot in, really help me keep a consistant look throughout all of my images.

F/8       12 Seconds                     9 Seconds                        6 Seconds                3 Seconds

I found this was one of the easiest prints to do, as 7 seconds was a perfect exposure for this image and no dodging or burning was needed for any part of this photograph.

f/8 – 7 Seconds

 

Ninth Print:

This test strip was so bright that it almost does not look like a test strip. I realised that I had my aperture set on F/11. So I changed my aperture to F/8 and did a conformation strip at 9 seconds. Also as I took this image in the same place as a previous person I knew I would have to burn in the left side of the background so I did this for an extra 5 seconds on the conformation strip.

F/11     12 Seconds               9 Seconds                     6 Seconds                         3 Seconds

F/8 –   9 Seconds and an extra 5 seconds on the left side of the background.

 

Tenth Print:

This was quite a simple print to do in the past, the only reason I had to redo this print was to get rid of the border.

F/8      12 Seconds               9 seconds               6 Seconds                    3 Seconds

I thought 6 seconds looked rather strong, but I decided to dodge her eyes, only for a little while just to get the whites of her eyes to show a little more.

F/8 – 6 Seconds – dodged eyes a little

When it came to the final print I accidentally moved the paper which cropped the image a little bit, but I am still very pleased with the outcome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

