Assignment 1 Idea

The first thing I feel came to me straight away was how our generation especially, is stereotyped in to a specific group. So what exactly is a stereotype?

Online Dictionary Definition of ‘Stereotype’: A widely held but fixed and oversimplified image or idea of a particular type of person or thing.

I believe a Stereotype consist of judging a person by the way they look, or the way they act. We automatically place them in a ‘category’ even though we do not know that person. I feel it is wrong to judge someone before knowing who they are and just by judging someone on the outside can be a complete misinterpretation of a person’s character.

Some stereotypes that are known are:

  • Geek
  • Popular
  • Sporty
  • Skater
  • Emo
  • Goth
  • Chav

This then helped me adapt on my idea as it made me think about how I wanted to explore this idea, and how I would capture this through my camera. I have chose to challenge myself by photographing strangers, in which I would go out in public and ask strangers if i would be allowed to photograph them. This idea could help me develop my confidence in not only photographing in public but asking people if i can photograph them, as many people choose to avoid camera’s in anyway possible. I will also be asking them a few questions about themselves and get their opinion on judging someone by the way they look. This makes the photographs have more depth and  allows each persons personality to show. My aim is to create a simple portrait in which onlookers might judge them, but the information I collect from each person will show that you ‘can not judge a book by its cover’.

Leave a Reply

